Chocolate Dipped Orange Butter Cookies

 

A few years ago, I obtained this vintage cookie press from one of my mom’s friends who was getting rid of it. How cool looking is it?!

I was thrilled to gain a new kitchen gadget, especially one that could make the ever-coveted Christmas Spritz or butter cookies! My mom frequently makes them at Christmastime in all sorts of colors and shapes.

Well, upon receiving the press, I hastily thought I could jump right in and try it out without much research on what kind of press it was or how to use it, and without even looking up recipes. The attempt miserably failed, of course, and ultimately ended half a day later with soggy dough pressing out the side of the press! Ha.

 

img_5477

Apparently, this is an aluminum Mirro Dial-a-Cookie Cookie Press. I still can’t find the year it was made.

 

I can laugh about that now, but I’m ashamed to say it’s still been about a year since my last attempt at using the press or making butter cookies at all. So after a bit of research, and stumbling upon a delectable-looking recipe in an old magazine, I decided to give it a try again!

Though the recipe I found looked amazing, it made six dozen (!) cookies, and had a couple ingredients I never have on hand. I decided to tweak the recipe on my own to make less cookies and better-fit my pantry. In addition, and out of necessity, I used two different methods for shaping the cookies. At first, I pressed out about 15 cookies. However, since my cookie press is a bit temperamental, I ran out of time! So I placed the remaining dough in the fridge in a sealed plastic bag, and took them out a day later. This time, I rolled the dough into small, 1-inch balls, and pressed them down into the cookie sheet. They baked for the same amount of time, and both turned out beautifully. I’m including both methods in the recipe, so pick and choose what you like! 🙂

img_5482

Chocolate Dipped Orange Butter Cookies

Makes 4 dozen cookies.

*Please note, these are NOT gluten free. Although I would love to try them out with Bob’s Red Mill GF all purpose flour!! If you give it a shot, let me know how it turns out!

Ingredients:

1/2 c. (1 stick) butter or margarine
1 egg
1/3 c. sugar
2 tsp. orange zest
1 1/4 c. flour
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 tsp. coconut oil (or olive oil)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Using a large electric mixer or stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add egg and orange zest, and mix again on medium-low speed. Scrape down the sides if you need to. Add the baking powder, and then the flour 1/2 cup at a time while the mixer runs on medium speed.

When you have a thick dough, begin shaping the cookies. For pressed cookies, fill your cookie press with the dough and begin to press out whatever shaped cookies you like, about 1 inch apart on an ungreased baking sheet. I used a plain square shape, which seemed to work the best on my vintage press. For hand-rolled and pressed cookies, roll the dough into small, 1-inch balls and press into the cookie sheet about one inch apart. These little guys don’t rise much, so it’s okay if they’re a little closer together on the sheet to save space!

img_5480

Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and allow them to completely cool before you coat with chocolate. While the cookies are cooling, melt the chocolate chips and oil in the microwave in 30 second increments until all the chocolate has become a liquid. Dip each cookie halfway (or even just the tip) into the chocolate and allow to cool on wax paper or a silicone mat until chocolate hardens.

Enjoy! You can store them in an airtight container in the fridge for up to two weeks.

 

img_5490

This year, our veterinarian has gone above and beyond for us, and I’d love to use some of these to thank her and her family for their kindness. I’m also using some of these for our church small group tonight. And since I can’t give an account of their taste – no gluten for this mama, sadly – I’m hoping to report back with an empty plate!

If you’re a traditional butter cookie or Spritz cookie lover, I’d love to hear your feedback! What presses do you use? What are your favorite butter cookie recipes?

 

Leave a Reply

