Homemade Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix!

Guys, cake mix!

As in the kind where you just toss in eggs, milk and oil, then have perfect cake batter… Perfect for impromptu dinner parties, potlucks, or prep-ahead birthday parties! I just love cake mixes. They have been hard to part with since going gluten free.

A few weeks back, I found a gluten free chocolate cake mix in a town nine miles from where I live, but it was a much steeper price than I wanted to relinquish. So…on toward more kitchen experimentation I went!

I have been waiting for months to make my favorite chocolate cake, and finally this week, I got around to making and sharing it with my family! ❤

IMG_3524

I knew our family wouldn’t be home during the week I hoped to make it, so I added the dry ingredients and tossed them together in a large zip lock bag. I didn’t use the mix for two more weeks, and I’m certain it would store well up to a month in the fridge.

I loved just pulling out the zip lock bag from the pantry and adding the three extra ingredients, then having a gluten free cake less than an hour later!

So, with the help of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cup-for-Cup flour, this is what happened!

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Mix

Combine…

2 1/2 c. gluten free cup-for-cup all purpose flour (I love Bob’s Red Mill)
2/3 c. cocoa powder
1 3/4 c. raw cane sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp salt

Toss into a zip lock bag or other air-tight container, and store for up to a week in the pantry, or a month in the fridge or freezer.

When you’re ready to make your cake, add:

1 egg
1 c. milk or milk substitute (I used half 2% milk and half vanilla almond milk)
1/4 c. extra virgin olive oil

Combine all ingredients with a rubber spatula until there are no lumps in the batter. Pour the batter into a well-greased 9×13 in. baking pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 34-36 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow at least thirty minutes to cool before eating or frosting/decorating.

Eat!!

IMG_3523

Moist, delicious, and best eaten all in one sitting. Just kidding! Best eaten while shared with many friends, over the course of a couple days. 😀

I seriously love this cake…we still have a few pieces left in the fridge, but I’m not sure how long they’ll last around here! Stay tuned for the full recipe!

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

