Reading Lately…

At the very beginning of the year I found this pretty reading challenge on Popsugar, and literally had it on my fridge that same day!

Check out the downloadable version, and you can print it too!

Besides the gorgeous photo, the list really is quite a challenge, ranging from the genre and setting of a book, to the color of its cover.

I only have three checked off, and it’s already almost March! However, I am more than happy to keep browsing the shelves to mark off each and every one of these books from this challenge over the next nine and a half months!

This week, I’m reading a few fabulous books, and wanted to share them.

Praying Circles Around the Lives of Your Children by Mark Batterson

I don’t have lots to say about this book yet, as I am only two chapters in. Hubby and I just started reading this with our Sunday school class, and so far, I like it. The concept of radical, honest, and expectant prayers — specifically about our kids — are pretty relevant toΒ  my life right now.

This, by the way, also marks “Book with a Blue Cover” off the Popsugar Reading Challenge List. Score.

Essential Keats selected and with an introduction by Philip Levine

I love John Keats. He is, and has been for many years, my favorite poet. Reading poetry is one of my favorite ways to relax, and I’ve been needing a lot of that lately. πŸ™‚

Sonnets from the Portuguese and Other Love Poems by Elizabeth Barret Browning, and Illustrated by Adolf Hallman

Again, with the English, early 19th century poetry… I could sit and pore over these pages for an hour without blinking an eye. I also especially love the note on Browning at the beginning, as well as the stunning illustrations. (I mean, how pretty is this book’s cover?!)

It was also a perfect Valentine’s Day read, and fit the Popsugar Reading Challenge bill for: a book that is 100 years older than me, a book I can finish in a day, AND a book that is guaranteed to bring me joy. Win! (Though I think I may need to choose carefully which box I check for this read…I have a lot of reading to go!)

For now, that’s all…but I have new ones already in my que waiting to be started this week, and I can’t wait!

 

❀

 

3 thoughts on “Reading Lately…

Leave a Reply

