The Kid-Friendliest Beef Meatballs

I’ll be honest, I’m a lazy cook. I love simple, easy recipes. I love sticking to what I know. I love dishes I know the kids will love and actually eat.

Don’t get me wrong, I definitely love a good kitchen adventure when it comes to baking! (In fact, I rarely use measuring devices…don’t tell anyone…)

But when it comes to cooking, I stick to the basics!

And over the last year I’ve learned that kids generally LOVE the basics.

These meatballs are 6 ingredients and take 35 minutes from start to finish. Add some BBQ sauce on the side and you have an instant kid classic!

Ingredients:

1 lb. uncooked lean ground beef, thawed
15 Saltine crackers, crushed or pulsed
1 egg
4 tsp. seasoning salt
1 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 c. ketchup

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and grease a regular glass pie pan.

Crack the egg into a large bowl with the ketchup, spices, and crushed crackers. Add the ground beef and mix thoroughly with a large spoon or your hands (if you’re brave.) 🙂

Form the meat mixture into ten (roughly 2/5 in. in size) meatballs and place evenly around the pie dish.

IMG_8083

Before baking, the mixture is gooey (from the egg), but should be able to gently hold its shape.

Bake for thirty minutes. Remove from oven and allow at least ten minutes to cool.

As aforementioned, the kids here love to dip them in BBQ sauce, but they’re great plain too.

IMG_8085

IMG_8086

IMG_8088

Sometimes it’s nice to get back to the basics and whip up something plain and simple. 🙂

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The Kid-Friendliest Beef Meatballs

Leave a Reply

