Amish Baked Oatmeal

Sometimes eating healthy is tough. I have the mind that caving every once in a while for the sake of your sweet tooth and your sanity has its benefits! For this recipe though, I’d cave every time. On the plus side, it has no flour and the butter/margarine can be substituted for yogurt. I actually love subbing out Greek yogurt — it makes the oatmeal fluffier and lighter!

This is a recipe for delicious, comforting Amish Baked Oatmeal from Taste of Home’s Contest Winning Annual Recipes (2005). I have made this recipe so many times, I can do it in my sleep.

No, really. This morning I set my alarm for 6:15, had the batter prepped and in the oven by 6:17, and went back to bed for another 15 minutes! It’s seriously that easy.

Topping the oatmeal with fresh fruit and yogurt is my favorite way to finish the dish. Today I’m showing photos with both apples and blueberries with yogurt.

IMG_4695

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted OR 1/2 c. plain or vanilla yogurt

1 egg

1 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla extract (If you use the vanilla yogurt, you can skip the vanilla)

Instructions:

Combine all dry ingredients in medium bowl.

Add milk, melted margarine or yogurt and egg. Mix with a large spoon until all ingredients are well-combined. I always add a few extra dashes of cinnamon.

Grease four ramekins OR one deep dish pie pan OR one 8 x 8 in. baking pan. (This recipe fits all!) Pour batter evenly into the chosen dish(es).

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes.

Top with whatever you like! Try strawberries, blueberries, yogurt, warm milk, or honey — or all of the above.

IMG_4695

Happy Breakfasting!

Leave a Reply

